Former CJ David Maraga gets a new job

by Wakili Liam
Former Chief Justice David Maraga

Former Chief Justice David Maraga has been appointed to head a 23-member task force on police reforms.

In a gazette notice on Thursday, President William Ruto appointed Carole Kariuki to be the vice chairperson.

Other task force members appointed are Moffat Muriithi Kangi, John Ole Moyaki, Ibrahim Jillo Guyo, Richard Kirundi, Elizabeth Mueni, and Roseline Odede.

Others are Joash Odhiambo Dache, Doreen Muthaura, Albert Mwenda, Terry Chebet Maina, Hassan Sheikh Mohamed, Simiyu Werunga, Mutuma Ruteere, Anne Ireri, Stephen Kayongo, Jafaar Mohamed and Sammy Chepkwony.

The task force is will oversee the improvement of reforms for members of the National Police Service and Kenya Prisons Service.

It is also mandated to identify the legal, policy, administrative, institutional and operational constraints on effective service delivery by NPS and KPS.

“Identify and recommend legal, policy, administrative, institutional and operational reforms in the NPS and KPS for effective service delivery,”Ruto said in the Gazzette Notice dated December 21.

The task force shall further review and recommend improvement of the terms and conditions of service.

Mahakamani News is Kenya’s top court reporting and crime coverage website. If you have a case that needs coverage, or if you are facing injustice from powerful forces, fired unfairly or reporting any corruption or relevant news pertaining judiciary etc please contact us via



You may also like