JSC Recommends Appointment Of 10 High Court Judges And Lawyer to the Court of Appeal

by Mahakamani News

The Judicial Service Commission on Monday recommend appointment of 10 High Court judges and lawyer Imaana Laibuta to the Court of Appeal.

The judges are Francis Tuiyott, Hellen Omondi, Pauline Nyamweya, Weldon Korir, Msagha Mbogholi, Aggrey Muchelule, Jessie Lesiit, Mumbi Ngugi, George Odunga and Joel Ngugi.

The commission will forward the names of these “most suitable candidates” to President Uhuru Kenyatta for appointment.

Following the announcement of the list of 11 by Chief Justice David Maraga at a press briefing in Nairobi, however, Law Society of Kenya representative Macharia Njeru dissented, saying they expected at least two lawyers to be selected as he made a strong case for this.

JSC Chairperson, Chief Justice David Maraga (left), during interviews for shortlisted candidates on July 9

In addition, two senior judges – Erastus Githinji and Alnashir Visram – are set to retire this year.

For the interviews that took place from June 17 to 27, the commission shortlisted 22 judges and 13 advocates including Dr Laibuta, Moses Kurgat, Prof Nixon Sifuna and Paul Lilan.

The country has Court of Appeal stations – Nairobi, where majority of the judges are stationed, and Kisumu, Malindi and Nyeri, which have three judges each.

Mahakamani News is Kenya’s top court reporting and crime coverage website. If you have a case that needs coverage, or if you are facing injustice from powerful forces, fired unfairly or reporting any corruption or relevant news pertaining judiciary etc please contact us via cases@mahakamani.news



You may also like