Seven Terror Suspects Arraigned In Kajiado Court

by Lawyer Alex

The seven terror suspects who were arrested about two weeks ago at Mbirikan roadblock in Kajiado County were on Thursday presented in court.

The suspects, who were en route from Nairobi to Oloitoktok, included Abdullahi Abdi Hasmud, Abdinoh Mahumud Hassan, Abdirahman Abdulahhi Jimale, Abdirahman Mohamed Abaas, Yussuf Hussein Muhamed, Abdilahi Shukri and their driver Meshack Muli.

Muli, Shukri and Hussein Muhamed were released by Principal Magistrate Judicaster Nthuku after the court filed no charges against them.

Somali nationals Mohamed Abaas and Abdi Haamid however pleaded guilty to charges of unlawfully possessing Kenyan national identification cards bearing false names.

The pair were ordered to pay a Ksh.150,000 fine failure to which they would serve 14 months in prison. The two will be repatriated to Somalia after clearing the fine or serving the sentence.

Mahamud Hassan and Jimale were likewise fined Ksh.50,000 with the possibility of six months imprisonment for the same charge.

Meanwhile, Four people have died and one other seriously injured after a vehicle they were driving in ran over an Improvised Explosive Device (IED) in Garissa County.

According to reports the incident happened as the vehicle, which was ferrying six persons in total, made its way to Hulugho from Masalani. The IED is said to have detonated between Bura East and Galmagala areas.

The driver of the vehicle that sustained serious damage is fighting for his life in hospital while another passenger escaped with minor injuries.

The deceased persons are said to have been from the same family.

Mahakamani News is Kenya’s top court reporting and crime coverage website. If you have a case that needs coverage, or if you are facing injustice from powerful forces, fired unfairly or reporting any corruption or relevant news pertaining judiciary etc please contact us via



You may also like